Amazon Ads Unleashed: Advanced Publishing and Marketing Strategies for Indie Authors (Self-publishing Guide Book 3) by Robert J. Ryan
Author:Robert J. Ryan [Ryan, Robert J.]
Language: eng
Format: epub
Publisher: Trotting Fox Press
Published: 2019-11-02T04:00:00+00:00
100 / conversion rate % = clicks to wait
Hereâs an example:
100 / 10 = 10 clicks to wait
This is the second. Itâs considered to have a higher probability of accuracy:
100 / conversion rate % x 2 = clicks to wait
Hereâs an example:
100 / 10 x 2 = 20 clicks to wait
To put things into an everyday perspective with something weâre familiar with, hereâs the second formula as it relates to a coin toss:
100 / 50 x 2 = 4 coin tosses to wait
With 4 tosses, Iâd be pretty confident of getting heads at least once. What about you?
Thereâs another way to look at this. It might help you picture things a bit more strategically. Imagine you live in the desert. Youâve planted a long row of maize. Five hundred kernels to be exact.
Youâve tilled and fertilized the soil. Youâve planted the maize. And youâve watered it all in to get things going.
Ten days later, you have 250 nice little maize plants reaching for the sun. You also have 250 empty spaces.
No problem. Not all maize germinates at the same time. In fact, not every kernel germinates no matter how long you wait. Not all kernels are viable.
Now, you have a choice. You live in the desert, remember. Water is a finite resource. Itâs downright scarce.
Do you water only the maize that has germinated? Or do you water the entire row, germinated and non-germinated alike?
Letâs say you keep watering it all. Over the next few days more maize germinates. Say another 50 shoots come up. Youâve proved a point. Some of those empty spots were viable.
On the other hand. Because you spread that precious resource of water around, the first lot that came up are now wilted and their growth is stunted. The later-germinating ones too. Theyâll never produce the crop that they could have.
But, if you directed your scarce water supply only to the 250 that came up initially, theyâre doing well.
In this scenario, the maize kernels are your keywords and the water is your time and money. You only have so much of either to go around. Direct it wisely rather than seeking statistical perfection. Statistical perfection doesnât put food on the table. Profit does.
This is one more reason a high CVR is desirable. It saves you money by requiring less clicks to convert, builds relevancy, and also offers quicker statistical confidence.
At this point, Iâm going to say that statistics and probability equations are good, but the art and science of PPC marketing is all about reducing the randomness of events.
Flipping a coin and getting heads or tails is entirely random. But PPC marketers donât play fair. They use a weighted coin. Targeting is the first step in this. Random targeting gives random results. The better the targeting, the more confidence you can have that it is a good keyword.
Over and above that, CTR is an indicator of success. Itâs like an in-car navigation system telling you if youâre on track (or off track) before you reach your destination.
Keep in mind that itâs an indicator, not a guarantee.
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